I taste the revolution

December 12, 2013 § Leave a comment

#4 - Le Tigre with a koala. Photo courtesy of Russ Gelsey

Le Tigre with a koala, because OF COURSE. Photo by Russ Gelsey.

Hello, lovelies. Now that the temperature is a balmy 30-ish degrees, I am feeling rather perky.

Recommended winter workout: One (1) beer of your preference, two (2) Mean Jeans LPs, and absolutely no chance that anyone can see you dancing in your socks in the kitchen.

Lessee. The Punk Singer: A Film About Kathleen Hanna is showing at the Roxy Thursday through Sunday, and I am enormously excited. I restrained my squees long enough to write a thingy for the Indy:

“The beacon for riot grrrl, Kathleen Hanna, is the subject of a documentary released this year by Opening Band Films. The Punk Singer: A Film About Kathleen Hanna recounts her role in the birth of the movement and in Bikini Kill and Le Tigre, plus her personal struggles with falling in love with a Beastie Boy (Adam Horowitz) and getting diagnosed with Lyme disease.

I’m excited about so many things about The Punk Singer, but if I had to pick one to explain coherently, it’s that it’s heartening to see the women of riot grrrl staying rebellious as they age.”

Also, a little birdy (well, Facebook) told me dudely-type-band Iron Chic is booking a huge national tour in spring, and they might come our way. This gives us plenty of time to memorize all their lyrics. Hop to it.

And in upcoming show news, there’s a slew of holiday drunkmas parties on my personal dance card. Plus the ISCSM Holiday Drag Show on Friday at the Palace, a VFW show with Whiskey Hooves, Mahamawaldi and Boss Fight, and then on Saturday, a food bank benefit at Sean Kelly’s with The Hasslers, Muzikata and Off in the Woods. Admission is free and there’s $2 Bayern pints, so heyo.

Also, I’m working on (read: have not even started) my Top 10 of 2013 List. If you have one, send it my way!

K.Dubs

missoulapunknews [at] gmail dot com

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I taste the revolution at Missoula Punk News.

meta

