kate’s top eight favorite things about total fest

August 18, 2014 § Leave a comment

pretty much the best summation of Total Fest. photo by Stephanie Oster

pretty much the best summation of Total Fest. photo by Stephanie Oster

Another Total Fest has come and gone, kids. You know that line in How the Grinch Stole Christmas where they say that even without baubles or presents, Christmas still came? That is how it feels when Total Fest finally happens after months of planning. I am a worthless pile of trash today. You can find some cool coverage of the festival elsewhere on teh interwebs, like Stephanie Oster’s photos on Flickr and Weird Missoula’s recap. (I, too, want fried chicken now.)

Here is a uncurated and totes random list of my favorite things about this weekend; in the interest of readability, I have excluded exclamation points, but just imagine several exclamation points here.

1. When I help check in bands, that moment when we hand them each their three drink tokens, their eyes light up like kids in a candy store. I never get tired of seeing it. Beautiful.

2. Seattle’s fantastic garage outfit Wimps, followed up by Minneapolis’ Kitten Forever, made for a fantastic couple hours of my life. Girl punx dancing times! I was particularly impressed by how the Kitten Forever ladies pretty seamlessly swap instruments while playing.

3. The Free Cycles show on Friday afternoon with Megagiant, Al Scorch and Shitty Weekend was a great show all of itself. A nonprofit bike shop makes for a very fitting venue for Al Scorch and his Woody Guthrie vibe. Plus, the smell of bike grease just feels like home to me.

4. And hours later, seeing the Shitty Weekend dudes get totally schwastey and play a fast ‘n furious set at a basement after-party was also excellent. They kept apologizing for playing badly, which was awfully thoughtful of them, considering how very discerning the crowd was at approximately 3 AM.

5. Lord Dying. Insert air-guitar and several “YEA-AAAH”s here. Technical, but not so technical that they sacrifice melody. And apparently that was their new drummer’s third show with them. And as much as Lord Dying ripped, that show was enhanced by headbanging next to the ZACC’s executive director Kia, who is a national treasure.

6. The Ex Nuns dudes saying that their ethos is “to be as loud as possible.” they achieve this goal, for sure. And they didn’t even make fun of my parking abilities as I drove them around town the next day in my shitty Buick. Thanks for humoring me, guys.

7. Oh, speaking of the ZACC, the art installation stages were just wild. Killer idea on the part of Total Fest art director Michael Workman, and excellent execution by him and Adelaide Every and Jack Metcalf. (And probably other helper people I am unaware of.)

8. It makes me so proud that this festival brings such cool and weird and artsy things from around the country to our little town. Where would we be without Total Fest? I get all teary-eyed just thinking about it.

there is probably other things I could say but I am going to go sleep for the rest of my life. let’s do this again! just not right now. oof.

missoulapunknews at gmail dot com

p.s. Chastity Belt ruled, and those ladies got up in every mosh pit the rest of the night. they are my heroes.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading kate’s top eight favorite things about total fest at Missoula Punk News.

meta

