got my mean jeans on and I’m ready to go

November 21, 2014 § Leave a comment

10473855_557200284381462_7210320788224091817_o

Heads up, dusters, MEAN JEANS PLAYS SATURDAY NITE! EEEE!

If you peruse the local Missoula Independent this week (it is a free paper that you can find in every coffee shop and on corners downtown) it has two articles pertaining to punk rock. Here’s Dan Brooks musing about whether we get too old for punk rock: “Depending on what you consider “real,” I became a punk at age 14 when I got my first Clash album, or at age 20 when I was first punched at a hardcore show. These events happened between 1991 and 1997. I was young, which is to say that punk rock was in its golden age.”

There’s also myself talking about how, hey, if you need an example of how punk rock is still vibrant and awesome, go listen to Mean Jeans already. And don’t forget that they play the Palace Saturday with Bacon and Egg, Hermanas Y Hermanas and Kepi Ghoulie.

And yeah, I do feel too old for punk rock bullshit, or more precisely, it’s getting harder and harder to stay out late drinking shitty alcohol and dancing around like an idiot. And I LOVE drinking shitty alcohol and dancing around like an idiot, but my body’s like “nuh-uhhh.” It’s true that when I was 18, I’d go to shows and dance around and lose my mind, totally sober, but these days, it takes an increasing amount of caffeine/alcohol/recreational substances to gear up as much. It happens, man. It’s okay. There’s a place for old crabby punx, too. They run the websites.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading got my mean jeans on and I’m ready to go at Missoula Punk News.

meta

