back to the future

October 21, 2015 § Leave a comment

downtownboys

Downtown Boys!

So Oct. 21 is Back to the Future day or some shiz? Yeah, I’ve never seen Back to the Future, could care less. COME AT ME, BRAH. But I have recently watched Boogie Nights AND Die Hard, and I feel like a better woman for it.

Oh, funny thing: I totally said I would probably not make it to He Whose Ox Is Gored at the ZACC, but then lo and behold I strolled over there anyway. There were maybe like six people there, the band was heavy as hell and loud as fawk. I also forgot/didn’t realize that He Whose Ox has a rad lady singer? Go listen to them. I also really appreciate that it was a show that started on time, the touring band played at 9:30 PM and I was in bed at a reasonable hour. I would like to support that kind of thing as often as I can.

The founders of the Taking Back Tuesday emo night in Portland talk about their Top 5 Emo Moments, and it is worth a read if you enjoy jokes about Bright Eyes, and I do.

Hospital Job’s new LP is streaming over at For the Love of Punk. You’ll recall that they’re a rad four-piece with the same principal songwriter as the Copyrights, and a few dorks (cough) were extremely enthusiastic when they played the Palace a while back.

Downtown Boys is a kickass punk band that I wish I’d been paying attention to sooner. They’re a “bilingual political sax punk party from Providence, RI. They write songs about smashing the prison-industrial complex, racism, queerphobia, capitalism, fascism, boredom, and all things people tell us that try to close our minds, eyes, and hearts.” Fuck yeah!

In local news, there’s a lot coming up, including another edition of the VFW’s tribute residencies on Thursday nite. Check the show calendar for some half-assed details! w00t!

missoulapunknews at gmail dot com

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading back to the future at Missoula Punk News.

meta

